New Zealand Car of the Year 2018

Who are our reigning champions?

In 2018, the Mercedes-Benz A-Class took home the New Zealand Car of the Year award but the German manufacturer wasn't the night's only winner.  

The winners of the New Zealand Car of the Year awards provide Kiwis with a sample of vehicles that act as a great starting point for selection within individual buying categories (Best in Class) or based upon safety (Safest Car). 

2018 AA Driven NZ Car of the Year winners

Category Winner Sponsor
Best in Class - Micro/Light Suzuki Swift Sport
Best in Class - Small/Compact Car Mercedes-Benz A-Class
Best in Class - Medium/Large Car Holden Commodore
Best in Class - Luxury Car BMW 5 Series - M5
Best in Class - EV/PHEV Hyundai Kona EV
Best in Class - Small SUV Volvo XC40
Best in Class - Medium SUV Subaru Forester
Best in Class - Large SUV Mazda CX-8
Best in Class - Luxury SUV Jaguar F-Pace
Best in Class - Utility Volkswagen Amarok
Best in Class - Sports Mazda MX-5
Safest Car Toyota Corolla
People's Choice 2018 Suzuki Swift Sport
AA Driven NZ Car of the Year 2018 Mercedes-Benz A-Class