Safest Car 2017

Mercedes-Benz C-Class Cabriolet

After the success of the GLC in the Safest Car category in 2016, Mercedes-Benz scores a back to back win with its C-Class Cabriolet narrowly beating off close competition from the Toyota Prius. 

Safest car

The Safest Car award isn't judged. It's informed by data from the Australasian New Car Assessment Programme (ANCAP) which uses crash tests to analyse structural integrity and pedestrian safety alongside putting the active onboard safety assist technologies through their paces.

The tested model of Mercedes-Benz C-Class Cabriolet was introduced in Australia and New Zealand in October 2016 (built from May 2016). Its 5 star rating applies to two-wheel-drive variants of the C200 and C300.

Dual frontal, side chest-protecting, side-head protecting and a driver’s knee airbag are standard. Autonomous emergency braking (AEB) and a manual-set speed limiter are standard. A lane support system (LSS) is standard on the C300.

A full list of available safety features and technologies can be viewed within the corresponding Technical Report available from the ANCAP website.

Be it at rush hour, during a long drive at night or on an unfamiliar route – your C-Class Cabriolet noticeably takes the strain, particularly in stressful situations. This is based on a concept that all our vehicles embody and which makes every journey in a Mercedes unique: Intelligent Drive. Because the time you spend behind the wheel is your time. Time for relaxation. Time to replenish your energy. So that, first and foremost, you reach your destination safely, but are also always relaxed when you get there.

Mercedes-Benz New Zealand

Sponsor Safest Car 2017
ANCAP Safety Rating