AA Whanganui District Council

The AA’s Whanganui District Council is focused on issues affecting AA Members in the wider Whanganui region.

Working on behalf of AA Members

The AA District Council is involved in a wide range of motoring issues in the region.

One issue that we pay particular attention to is the Desert Road section of State Highway One and the number of low speed sharp corners that cause driving challenges, especially north of the summit. The Council engages with the NZ Transport Agency and Environment Waikato on this issue.

Ongoing issues the AA Council is concerned with:

  • The quality and timeliness of maintenance across the region, including the capacity of the industry to undertake routine maintenance and respond to the targets.
  • The impact of a significant reduction in funding for State Highway safety improvements announced in 2018 by the Government.
  • The degree that lower speed limits are being used as a surrogate for investment options.
  • Consistent application of the Speed Management Guide in the setting of speed limits under the new Land Transport Rule.
  • Maintenance of SH4, the Parapara Highway, which is essential for the region's resilience.
  • Traffic impacts associated with future northern residential growth in Feilding.
  • SH1 expressway south of Levin to Otaki state highway upgrade as a top regional project of national importance.
  • The WOF cycle of 3 years for new vehicles, which can allow for tyres to wear or headlights to fail, for example, between WOF inspections. 


District Councillors

The District Councillors are:

  • Lyndsay Tait (AA Board Member)
  • Russell Cameron (Chairman)
  • Errol Christiansen (National Councillor)
  • Kester Olivecrona
  • Graham Robinson
  • Ian Loader
  • Trevor Scarrow
  • Tony Swain

We are currently looking for new Councillors to represent AA Members living in the Whanganui and Rangitikei areas. If you’re an AA Member and interested in local transport issues, please get in touch to find out more by contacting our Whanganui AA Centre Manager Anne-Marie Farmer.

Contacts for AA Members

AA District Manager: Anne-Marie Farmer, Whanganui AA Centre

The AA's Whanganui District boundaries:

The AA's Whanganui District is almost 14,000 sq km in area, inland from the coast at Patea in the north, to the west side of the Rangitikei River in the south. Following the river inland, it excludes the township of Bulls, heading East to Sanson and beyond, excluding SH1/3, and Stewart Road. The area includes the township of Feilding heading further inland up the Pohangina Valley, just east of Apiti to Rangitaiki, excluding SH5. The northern boundary then heads SW, crossing the summit of SH1 (Desert Road), and SH4 just north of National Park. It continues west for 20km, where it returns to the coast to include Patea.

New! Our navigation has changed.

Use this button to access the site content.

 |  Learn more