Car Launches

The New Isuzu MU-X has arrived in New Zealand

Isuzu MU-X
Isuzu MU-X
Isuzu MU-X
Isuzu MU-X
Isuzu MU-X
Isuzu MU-X

Due to the recent Covid lockdown restrictions we were unable to attend the launch of this handsome new model, but here’s what we have learned and are excited to share.

For the first time in seven years, Isuzu’s seven-seat large SUV has undergone a complete transformation making the all-new Isuzu MU-X the most advanced Isuzu ever built. It now offers segment-leading 3500kg towing capacity, a locking rear differential for better off-road ability, an extra 235mm in wading depth (now 800mm), a roomier cabin and advanced safety features and technology.

Isuzu Utes New Zealand General Manager Sam Waller says, "The first-generation MU-X has always been a favourite amongst families in the rural community given its durability and reliability. It's also been a popular choice for those that often have something to tow. We're confident that the improvements in design and engineering instilled in the second-generation MU-X will meet—and exceed—the expectations of our customers."

Available from this month from Isuzu Utes New Zealand dealerships, the ruggedly refined MU-X is powered exclusively by Isuzu's new 4JJ3-TCX, 3-litre turbo-diesel engine producing 140kW of power and 450Nm torque, the engine is mated with an intuitive Aisin six-speed automatic transmission. As for fuel economy it consumes 8.3L/100km and has a CO2 output of 220g/km.

Isuzu designers meticulously integrated luxury and comfort into the very ethos of the interior design—making the all-new MU-X the most relaxing and comfortable vehicle ever designed by Isuzu. It combines a lavish piano black and quilted leather-accented interior with bold 20-inch alloys and is equipped with new levels of premium features and finishes. The latest on-board technology includes a 9-inch touchscreen with satellite navigation, Android Auto™ and wireless Apple CarPlay®, plus eight speakers offering premium sound. Dual-zone climate air-conditioning, heated front seats, front and rear parking sensors also come standard.

Loaded with safety features

Unsurprisingly MU-X has just been awarded the maximum 5-star safety rating from the independent vehicle safety authority, ANCAP. With a line-up of impressive safety features including eight airbags, and Isuzu's Intelligent Driver Assistance System (IDAS), the all-new MU-X is safer than before. The list of safety features is comprehensive including; Auto Emergency Braking with pedestrian and cyclist detection, Lane-Keep Assist, Blind-Spot Monitor, Adaptive Cruise Control, Rear Cross-Traffic Alert and Traffic Sign Recognition., The safety performance of the seven-seat Isuzu MU-X follows closely on the heels of its partner model, the Isuzu D-Max, with both Isuzu models now carrying a 5-star safety rating having scored well across all four key areas of ANCAP assessments.

“The MU-X takes advantage of the safety features already demonstrated in the D-Max, and its pleasing to see this strong performance carried over into the Large SUV segment,” said ANCAP Chief Executive Officer, Carla Hoorweg.

There are a variety of colour options available which include Splash White, Onyx Black, Mercury Silver, Obsidian Grey, Red Spinel, and Sapphire Blue, with Santos Brown new to the range.

The Price is $80,990, including GST +ORC.

For the ultimate peace of mind, every Isuzu MU-X comes standard with a comprehensive, bumper-to-bumper 3-years/100,000km warranty, and up to 3-years or 100,000km of roadside assistance, whichever occurs first.

At a glance


Isuzu MU-X


3.0-litre turbo 


From $80,990 + ORC

ANCAP safety rating

5 Star


140kW, 450Nm


Six-speed auto

Fuel economy

8.3L/100km (Combined), 220g/km

Towing capacity

3,500kg (Braked), 750kg (Unbraked)



Seating capacity


Luggage capacity/payload



 Key Safety Specs include

• 4-channel 4-sensor Anti-lock Brake System (ABS) with Electronic Brakeforce Distribution (EBD)
• Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
• Traction Control System (TCS)
• Emergency Brake Assist (EBA)
• Hill Start Assist (HSA)
• Hill Descent Control (HDC)
• Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
• Turn Assist with AEB
• Post-Collision Braking
• Forward Collision Warning (FCW)
• Misacceleration Mitigation
• Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC) with Stop and Go functionality
• Traffic Sign Recognition (TSR)
• Intelligent Speed Limiter
• Manual Speed Limiter
• Lane Departure Warning (LDW)
• Lane Departure Prevention (LDP)
• Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
• Emergency Lane Keeping (ELK)
• Driver Attention Assist
• Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
• Rear Cross Traffic Alert (RCTA)


Previous post
Next post
Greatest Outback receives greatest ANCAP
Read more
Circle K set to open EV charging and petrol stations
Read more